Fencing and Fashion Merge Again: The Khaled El Masri Spring Line and Fashion Show

Khaled El Masri - Collection printemps été 2010

Khaled El Masri is a Lebanese born designer with a passion for fencing that has inspired his Spring 2010 clothing line.

Khaled El Masri: I was always been fascinated by this sport: the grace of its postures, its moves. Through this collection, I wanted to convey my souvenirs and sensations. (READ MORE/SEE MORE PICTURES)

Khaled El Masri - Collection printemps été 2010

Ok, I expect all fencers to be wearing these clothes, reading the book, “Foiled” and watching Modern American Family…

You can check out the full clothing line here: http://www.khaledelmasri.com/

 Khaled El Masri - Collection printemps été 2010

Every Fencer Should Buy This Book: “Foiled” by Jane Yolen

 
I’m loving this new book “Foiled” by former Smith fencer Jane Yolen.  It’s a merging of fantasy genre with fencing in a comic book style format.
 
Deftly juggling fantasy adventure with a young girl’s coming of age, Foiled finds its heroine, Aliera, torn between her comfortable routines, including a determination to become an Olympic fencer and weekend afternoons gaming with her physical disabled cousin, and the attentions of a cute new boy in school. (READ MORE)
 
A girl’s coming of age story mixed with fencing…right up my alley. 
 
Yes, I have the Dixie Chicks and Indigo girls on my ipod and I fence so really this book is perfect for me. ;)   Author Jane Yolen’s Website has more information on this book and her other titles.
.
Mike Cavallaro provided the illustration.  A sequel is apparently already in the works called, “Curses Foiled Again”.  Another good title I think, no?
.
The book comes out April 13, but you can
CLICK HERE TO BUY THE BOOK NOW!!  Let’s support all fencing related projects and show people the power of the fencing community! GO FENCING!
*** Shout out to Brandeis Alum/Fencer Brendan “Showtime” Doris-Pierce for letting me know about this book!  Love it!

Another Music Video with Fencing?!?!?!

Hmm, another fencing music video? YUP! 

Apparently we’ve moved on from fencing in advertisements to music videos.  Fencing is really crossing over…(there’s a joke here somewhere)

This one seems to have a very deep story!

Check out the description:
Created and produced in DAf (www.daf.cl) by Felipe Dacaret, the video clip tells the story about a couple and there relationship, from it beginning in timidity, to a series of more complex stages in there relation, establishing new connections, where the intensity of it, leads to a final disintegration.

Not sure I love the song.   Special thanks to my Facebook buddy Chris Clarke for sending this my way! (Always appreciated!)

Thoughts on this one?