Olympians Tim Morehouse and Sarah Hughes to Host and Present at the 80th Annual AAU Sullivan Awards at New York Athletic Club on April 14th (Buy Tickets Now!)

Known as the “Oscar” of sports awards, and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union.   Hosting this years award show will be Olympic Silver Medalist Tim Morehouse and Olympic Figure Skating Champion Sarah Hughes will present the award.  

The finalists are Clint Moore (Baseball), Amy Pamiero-Winters (Ultra Marathoning), Megan Hodge (Volleyball), Erin Hamlin (Luge), Angela Blizzari (Cross Country) and Zak Boggs (Soccer).  These talented athletes were nominated for their outstanding athletic abilities and accomplishments as well as their qualities of sportsmanship, leadership & character that are evident in his/her lifestyle.The top 14 nominees were selected from submissions to the AAU Sullivan Committee. Then America voted for their favorite athlete online at USA Today combined with ballots from National Governing Bodies’, Members of the Media and D1 Sports Information Directors.  

The Amateur Athletic Union has presented this award annually since 1930 when the honor was given to Robert T. Jones for Golf. Since then many exceptional amateur athletes have been awarded the Sullivan title including: Wilma Rudolph (Athletics), Mark Spitz (Swimming), Greg Louganis (Diving), Jackie Joyner-Kersey (Athletics), Jim Abbott (Baseball), Peyton Manning (Football), Michelle Kwan (Figure Skating), Michael Phelps (Swimming), Jessica Long (Paralympian), Tim Tebow (Football) and in 2008 America’s Sweetheart, Shawn Johnson (Gymnastics), was presented with this award.

This year’s winner will be announced on April 14th at the ceremony taking place at the New York Athletic Club.  The event will include an autograph session with the athletes from 5:30-6:30pm, buffet and beverages from 6pm-7pm and award ceremony starting at 7:15pm.

To Purchase Tickets: http://aausullivan.com/dinnerreg.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s