Four Score and 20+ hours of Flying Later…Ben and I arrive in Bangkok…Our bags remain at JFK!

“Hello from the Bangkok lost baggage office!” (Picture above)
 
Bangkok, Thailand — 14+ hours to Beijing, a quick layover and then a 5+ hour flight to Bangkok only to discover that somehow our fencing bags never made it out of JFK!
 
Definitely not what you want to hear after a super long trip!   Not sure how that happened and it’s a first for me.   After 300+ or more flights out of JFK in my life I’ve never had my bags not get out of NYC!   Ben and I both arrived at JFK with plenty of time for them to make it on the flight (I was there 3 hours before flight) so my only suspicion is that perhaps someone doing the bag check didn’t know about fencing and held them because of either the sabers or body cords…who knows.    If not, just gross negligence of  the Air China folks…Which after our flight experience wouldn’t be that surprising!
 
Luckily, we carried most of our stuff on the airport so we’ll just need to borrow sabers…and I guess buy some underwear!    They said our bags might arrive by Saturday.(The first day of the competition)   Anyway, we’re spending the night in Bangkok and then meeting Coach Dmitry Guy in the morning to head to the competition hotel in Pattaya…about a 3 hour bus ride.

4 thoughts on “Four Score and 20+ hours of Flying Later…Ben and I arrive in Bangkok…Our bags remain at JFK!

  1. Yikes. Good thing that you’ll just need sabres. Still, that really sucks. It would put me in the wrong frame of mind for competing.

  2. The Bangkok airport looks glitzy. What an ordeal after all those hours to end up in baggage claim!

Leave a Reply

