USFENCING.ORG: Zagunis Conquers Brooklyn, Wins World Cup

From http://www.usfencing.org: (Kudos to USFA for fast updates and story lines!)

NEW YORK, N.Y. – World No. 1 Mariel Zagunis (Beaverton, Ore.) won the last FIE World Cup of the season in New York City Saturday night. The two-time reigning Olympic gold medalist defeated Reka Benko of Hungary, 15-13 in the women’s saber final at the Marriott Brooklyn Bridge.

“I’m happy to end the season on a win and I’m ready for a little bit of a break,” Zagunis said. “I think I fenced my best in the two final bouts. I had kind of a rocky start this morning with just the feeling, but I’m glad I was able to pull it out, get it done.”

http://usfencing.org/news/2010/06/19/zagunis-conquers-brooklyn-wins-world-cup/36670?loc=interstitialskip

Leave a Reply

