Excited to be back Hosting the 81st Annual AAU Sullivan Awards!

The AAU Sullivan Award is one of the most prestigious awards an amateur athlete can win (think Oscars for amateur athletes) and it is held annually at the New York Athletic Club.   It has been won by the likes of Shawn Johnson, Michael Phelps, Sarah Hughes amongst others.

Last year, I was honored to be asked to host the award show and I’m very excited that I’ve been asked back!  This year’s nominees include Olympic gold medalist Evan Lysacek and Heisman Trophy winner Cam Newton amongst others and the award will be given at the ceremony held on March 14 at the NYAC.

You can vote for the finalists at the USA Today website linked below and read more about all the semi-finalists!


2010 AAU Sullivan Award Semi-Finalists

The AAU Sullivan Committee is proud to announce the 2010 AAU Sullivan Award Semi-finalists.
These twelve outstanding athletes give it their all on and off the field or court. They have talent, leadership, character and sportsmanship; they have what it takes to be America’s top Amateur Athlete. Learn more about these individuals through his/her biographies, and then go online to vote at USA Today for your choice to be honored with the 81st Annual AAU Sullivan Award. Vote today online at USA Today by clicking here.

Olympian Tim Morehouse to Host 80th Annual AAU Sullivan Awards on April 14th at NYAC

I’m very excited to have been selected as the master of ceremony for this years 80th annual  AAU Sullivan Awards honoring our country’s most outstanding amateur athletes.    Past award winners have included, Tim Tebow, Sarah Hughes, Paul Hamm and Michael Phelps.

This years finalists are Clint Moore, Amy Pamiero-Winters, Megan Hodge, Erin Hamlin, Angela Blizzari and Zak Boggs.  The top 14 nominees were selected from submissions to the AAU Sullivan Committee. Then America voted for their favorite athlete online at USA Today combined with ballots from National Governing Bodies’, Members of the Media and D1 Sports Information Directors.  (Athlete Bios for 2009 Finalists: http://aausullivan.com/nominate.html)

The winner will be announced on April 14th at the ceremony taking place at the New York Athletic Club.  The event will include an autograph session with the athletes from 5:30-6:30pm, buffet and beverages from 6pm-7pm and then the award ceremony starting at 7:15pm with Olympic Figure Skating Champion Sarah Hughes presenting the winner with their award.

You can purchase tickets at: http://aausullivan.com/dinnerreg.html

The AAU Sullivan Awards
Known as the ” Oscar” of sports awards, and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union.

79th Annual AAU Sullivan Top Amateur Athlete Event: Honoring Shawn Johnson, Tyler Hansbrough, Nastia Liukin, Cynthia Barboza and Garrett Weber-Gale


I’m giving a speech tonight to the NY Amateur Sports Alliance at the NYAC and I was arriving early to set up when whom should I see walking  down the hallways but my Olympic teammate Gold Medalist Shawn Johnson.(Now currently staring on dancing with the stars!)

I poked my head into the room and saw that it was a small press conference for an event tonight for the 79th Annual AAU Sullivan Awards Honoring Americas Top Amateur Athletes.  

Tyler Hansbrough, Shawn Johnson, Nastia Liukin, Cynthia Barboza and Garrett Weber-Gale are being honored…

Also met WFAN radion personality Ann Ligouri who was once on a fencing cruise with 6-time Fencing Olympian Peter Westbrook back in the day! 

The folks at AAU running the event also graciously invited me since its downstairs from my speech so should be a fun evening!

It never ceases to amaze me how many randomly great things happen in NYC!