World Champion Lukashenko Retires and is Coaching Japan

Saber World Champion Lukashenko of Ukraine has apparently called it a career after being offered a coaching job in Japan.  He will apparently be the new head coach of the Japanese fencing team.    He was one of the most feared fencers in the world from 2000-2009, finishing in the quarter-finals of the world championship just this past year in Turkey.

Also rumored to be retired and searching for a coaching position in the United States is 2004 Olympic Silver Medalist Zsolt Nemscik of Hungary.    

Men’s saber is rapidly becoming younger with world powerhouses Russia, Ukraine and Hungary fielding almost entirely new teams.  It’s also likely some of France’s 2008 men’s saber Olympic championship team might retire  after the Paris World Championships in October, 2010.

All this retirement of the people I grew up admiring and fencing against is making me feel old! 😉 (There are some other high-profile retirements out there, but you’ll have to figure those out yourself!)

4 thoughts on “World Champion Lukashenko Retires and is Coaching Japan

  1. Jim Schneider sends:

    Tim,

    Sorry to see that accident to Jeff’s hand. I am just a father of a fencer but I saw a cadet level U.S. fencer put his saber tip through a Hungarian fencer at a World Cup a couple of years ago. The tip went through the hand like a good size caliber bullet. It went entirely through the hand and back out. Something cut loose in the young Hungarian’s hand and rolled up all the way to his upper arm (probably a tendon). Surgery definitely followed. I have also seen no less than two other fairly sever hand injuries (like Jeff’s) in our club over the last couple of years. Good comments from you on this ‘safety issue’ These hand injuries seem to be the most common. Wish we had some statistics on fencing injuries. The hand injurys (from my limited observation) seem to be the most common.
    See you around the fencing venues and good luck with your training.
    Jim and Allen Schneider

  2. First of all I would like to say great blog! I had
    a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Kudos!

Leave a comment